All Wrapped Up

13 Dec

I was all ready to write an entry about how I didn’t feel very Christmassy, but after a day off filled with unadulterated domestication and Classic fm I feel sufficiently relaxed and Christmassy for December the thirteenth.

I managed to finish the last of our Christmas shopping. Two more gifts arrived in the post this morning, and I’m just waiting for the final three which should be arriving very soon. I feel very organised gift wise this year as we got the majority of it online or via the church bookshop and so it was relatively stress free.

Presents

 I also spent a long time making gift tags and wrapping paper myself out of old magazines and pictures. Although it does take longer than just buying a roll of wrapping paper I challenge you to try it.
We didn’t want to buy cheap wrapping paper and were thinking of getting some from Oxfam which costs about £4. However doing it this way saves money and the environment, and looks really cool! I will definitely be doing it again.

Any other presents we have got have been bought from local shops which is also much more stress free, and fun. I had a really good shopping trip out which included lots of banter with the shop clerks and other customers. It’s really something I have found since we stopped shopping in supermarkets. Shopping is fun because you get to know people in the shops and they are much more friendly than the grunting teenagers you tend to get on the tills, or the other harassed shoppers that just march through their shopping at the supermarket.

Anyway, the afternoon was filled with choosing some new books at the library, getting my hair cut and then baking some mince pies with some lovely luxury mince meat we got from the farmers market. It was my first attempt at mince pies (and homemade pastry) and they worked out well. I used local butter which really gave the pastry a nice flavour. I am going to try and get some more mince meat at the market on Saturday to  make some more as this batch will soon be gobbled up! Next time I will roll out the pastry a bit thinner because some of them rose a bit too much during baking!

Mince Pies 

 I then cooked Toad-in-the-Hole with Red Onion and Thyme Batter which was extra yummy, served with cabbage, broccoli, carrots and gravy! I wish we had our small holding now and I could work outdoors/ be a domestic goddess all day long!

And for my family…Yes those are your presents, and no I’m not going to tell you which one is which!

2 Responses to “All Wrapped Up”

  1. josh December 14, 2007 at 1:58 pm #

    an interesting website…the mince pies were indeed yummylicious and the toad in the hole was toadtally unfrogettable!!

  2. Keith December 19, 2007 at 3:18 pm #

    I have a vague recollection of being mocked and ridiculed in the past when I wrapped Christmas presents in pages from magazines rather than pay for wrapping paper. (Although looking at the photos it does seem that you have taken a lot more care than I did!) Just a word of warning to alert you to the response you may get from the rest of the family!

Leave a Reply

