Camping in Pembrokeshire

5 Jul

 

I’m going to shamelessly plug everything which made me happy while on my camping holiday in Pembrokeshire as I seem to get a fair few people clicking on my blog via google, so I hope that I will be able to provide some holiday inspiration for others too.

 

We went away for four days, and camped at Foxdale Camp Site which is on the southern peninsula of Pembrokeshire in Marloes, close to Skomer Island. It’s the first time that I’ve ever been to a proper camp site and I liked what I found. It was very quiet, the facilities were clean (and the water hot) and the people were friendly. They even provide a breakfast cafe, and a bar. I imagine that it would get rather crowded in peak holiday time, but there were only ever about four other tents while we were there.

 

 

Pembrokeshire reminded me a lot of two of my favourite places, Cornwall and Skye, so needless to say I fell in love with it very quickly. We walked for miles along the coast path admiring the rocky coastline with its aquamarine water and white sandy beaches. We had fantastic weather too which was surprising, but lovely as we were outside most of the time.

 

 

One the second day we headed off early for the hour long drive to St David’s for our long awaited Whale and Dolphin Cruise (with Thousand Island Cruises). We ended up going out with a group from the WDCS, so needless to say we had a lot of knowledge on board. It was the most expensive thing we did (by a long way) but we’d been saving up for it and I got to achieve two of things on my ‘things to do before you die’ list so it was well worth it.

 

 

Unfortunately it was unsuccessful on the Orca front, but we did have a large pod of common dolphins swimming and jumping around the boat, and I also got to visit Grassholm, the only Gannetry in Wales, where around 100,000 birds live. It was amazing, and I got pooed on by a gannet! OH, and I wasn’t seasick which is a minor miracle considering we were out on the open sea for 3 hours and I normally get sick going on swings!

 

 

We then spent the rest of the day exploring St David’s which although has city status because of its cathedral, is the size a village. It’s very cute, and I could recommend it for a day visit.

 

Next day we headed off to Skomer Island. The wind had picked up a bit so I was dubious about the boat, but the weather really improved and we got there without a mishap. It was great and we saw lots of sea birds, and were able to watch porpoise and dolphin feeding just offshore. Unfortunately I haven’t loaded my Skomer pictures up on this computer yet but I will post some cute puffin photos soon!

We ate at the Lobster Pot Inn in the evening. If you’re eating in Marloes, I would really recommend this place. It looks unassuming from the outside but the menu is just amazing, with so much to choose from – I’m sure it could rival the restaurant a few doors up.

 

The next day it was back to Aberystwyth, via Strumble Head and to eat in Aberaeron!

2 Responses to “Camping in Pembrokeshire”

  1. Steve July 4, 2009 at 6:34 pm #

    I stayed in the pink caravan on this very same campsite for many years, before the change of ownership.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Top 5 Photographic Memories – Wildlife « - August 7, 2009

    […] good photo but it just reminds me of fulfilling one of my ‘do before you die’ wishes. While camping in Pembrokeshire we took a boat out about 23 miles into the Irish sea and eventually came across a pod of dolphins […]

Leave a Reply

