Salmon Parcels with Watercress Sauce

7 Oct

I have been putting off posting for a while now. It’s crazy how time flies past – the weeks are just slipping away.

 

I am happy because it is autumn and I can stop feeling annoyed that it’s meant to be summer but it’s constantly raining. Now I can enjoy the rain because it’s nearly winter and I can snuggle inside…hmm, it makes sense in my head anyway!

 

The students are back and we are very busy, in both our work and play – hence the lack in posts, but I have dredged the bottom of my mind to come up with something to write (just to prove I haven’t fallen off the end of the earth) and offer you one of my favourite recipes.

 

Salmon Parcels with Watercress Sauce (serves 4)

 

I think this was originally off a Sainsbury’s recipe Card, but I have been making it since my early teens because it’s a sophisticated looking meal, but is relatively simple and quick to make.

The chill of the watercress sauce is just lovely with the warm flakiness of the salmon. Makes my mouth water just thinking about it!

 

  • Knob of butter, melted
  • 2 onions, sliced
  • sprigs of fresh dill (I never use this as I never have dill around!!!)
  • 4 salmon steaks
  • salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 lemon
  • 40g butter
  • 175g fromage frais
  • 75g pack of fresh watercress, finely chopped

1. Preheat the oven to 180°C, 350°;F, Gas Mark 4.

2. Brush 4 sheets of foil with melted butter.

3. Divide the onion between each piece of foil, and place a sprig of dill on the onion.

4. Place one salmon steak on top of the onion and dill and squeeze over the lemon juice.

5. Add seasoning to taste and a knob of butter.

6. Wrap the foil around the fish to form a parcel and place on a baking tray in the preheated oven for 20-25 minutes.

7. Meanwhile, pour the fromage frais in a bowl and stir in the chopped watercress with seasoning to taste.

8. Remove the salmon from the foil and serve with the sauce and new potatoes.

2 Responses to “Salmon Parcels with Watercress Sauce”

  1. Keith October 8, 2008 at 5:41 pm #

    Not sure I’m totally convinced about your weather logic. We’ve had lovely weather (with the odd exception) ever since the schools went back!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Recipe Exchange « Rachel’s blog - November 19, 2008

    […] I sent off my Salmon and Watercress Sauce recipe. I didn’t get 36, (or even 400 emails) in return, I got 4! I haven’t tried them yet so […]

Leave a Reply

