This week and beyond

9 Feb

img_9081

 

Normal blogging will resume this week after a slightly crazy seven days.

Things are really tough at the moment. As I mentioned in a previous post there was/is a family crisis on Josh’s side last week which I won’t go into here. Needless to say we are left feeling drained, exhausted and ratty with each other. All of this came at a very difficult time.

 

We are trying to plan our future but have no idea what lays in store for us. We have been pushing a few doors but everything is slamming right back in our face. Josh is sure that he is being called to ordained leadership, but we’re not sure if it’s the right time for us to be going to vicar school just yet – neither of us have had much life experience for a start. But there is so much to consider. Neither of us have any career aspirations and everything seems to be pointing towards Christian work so it doesn’t make sense to move away from Aberystwyth to get ‘normal jobs’ just for the sake of it.

 

We have got one more door which needs to be pushed…We are going to apply for a post for a couple working in a Christian B&B in a castle(!) in Scotland promoting tourism and hospitality for the site.

I really, really, really want to do it. We’ve always said that our dream is to move to Scotland and to run a B&B and it seems too good to be true that this post has come up. Having said that we’re not getting our hopes up because we don’t have any direct experience in that sector and I’m not sure they will want to have such a young couple.

 

Amidst all this stress and unhappiness I also feel very blessed too. I am trying to trust and rely on God and we know that He has a plan for us.

I have a great family who are always so loving and supporting and a great church family and friends in Aber too.

We really appreciate all the support we have received, especially over the last week. If you have been one of the people that have sent us messages of support or spoken to us or listened to us rant or just prayed for us on the sidelines, we really do value you. You’re great and we’re so glad to have you in our lives. We just felt so loved when we arrived back on Wednesday after a five hour drive through the snow (which by the way the UK is totally ill-equipped to handle) to find our friend had tidied our flat and left us flowers and food.

 

I’ve also really appreciated blogging lately. Not just writing on my own blog but reading others too. I always used to think it was a bit geeky to be too much involved in writing on forums and blogs, but I have come to appreciate the online community. I love the fact that I can stalk follow what people are doing day-to-day even when I feel like my life is upside down.  

I love comments too, so I just wanted to encourage you, if you’re just silently reading this blog, COMMENT! I love to hear from new people, people that I know and people that I have ‘met’ through reading blogs. I want to hear what you think too!

6 Responses to “This week and beyond”

  1. Thomas February 9, 2009 at 6:13 pm #

    I’ll be praying for you in regards of the job, and don’t worry about your lack of experience. All things are possible through God!

    As for the question about photos, all of mine can be found at http://s649.photobucket.com/albums/uu214/thatcrazyshmead/
    Feel free to plunder them! They’re all quite square, but you can crop/ resize to your heart’s delight!

  2. Thomas February 9, 2009 at 6:23 pm #

    P.S. Have you asked Naomi Pincher? I bet she has loads of good one. If you want me to email them, rather than you copying and pasting, tell me which ones you want and I’ll send them to you.

  3. Hannah February 10, 2009 at 11:12 pm #

    I feel I should own up as a silent reader of your blog from time to time! I don’t have my own blog (I get too frustrated that I can’t have the quirky, but sophisticated writing style I’d love to have in a blog) but I wanted to encourage you nonetheless with yours!

  4. goodbadandugly2 February 11, 2009 at 5:06 am #

    Hi,
    I stumbled upon your blog. Hope everything is ok. Hang in there!

  5. psa37 February 11, 2009 at 11:16 am #

    Thomas – Yes good idea – I will ask her about it. Thanks for the prayers

    Hi Hannah, thanks for the encouragement, see you soon!

    Thanks for your post gbandu2. Things are getting better 🙂

  6. coffeegopher February 11, 2009 at 5:54 pm #

    Hang in there. As my Grandmother says, “This too shall pass.” Keep your chin up and focus on the Lord. I know you will come through all of this a stronger couple.

    Sending you lots of happy thoughts from the U.S.!

Leave a Reply

