The truth about food

9 Jun

I’ve got a confession to make. I feel like I should be honest with all of you that read my blog regularly.

It all started with my friend Andrew who commented that he really likes the look of all my recipes but doesn’t have the facilities to make any of them where he is in France.

It got me thinking that I probably put myself across as someone who eats quite well. Well…yes…we generally do cook things from scratch. But I’m not really the domestic goddess that I sometimes come across as.

In fact sometimes we regress back to our student-hood and eat ridiculous meals like this:

Creamy cheese mash and gravy, elegantly topped with a raw carrot

Creamy cheese mash and gravy, elegantly topped with a raw carrot

If you want some really fantastic recipes with some amazing photos that will have you salivating all over your keyboard, head over to a blog that I only found a few days ago but have already fallen in love with – domestic goddess in training. Bon appetite!

4 Responses to “The truth about food”

  1. Camille June 9, 2009 at 4:07 pm #

    Oh, too funny. I can just imagine you guys munching away on carrots like Bugs Bunny! Do you know the cartoon character Bugs Bunny? If not, look him up, and you’ll see what I mean.

    Some nights we eat chips and salsa (albeit homemade salsa) for dinner. I feel your pain!

    • Rachel June 10, 2009 at 11:10 am #

      MMMM…chips and salsa. I could eat that for dinner every night!

  2. Jules June 9, 2009 at 6:31 pm #

    I think that is a balanced meal. You have your carbs & veg with some meatyness from the gravy! Hubby & I ate awful stuff as students, however now I could quite happily eat a baked beans & mash sandwich. Yum. Thank you very much for the link *blush*

  3. maureenlynn June 12, 2009 at 3:53 am #

    haha, at first I thought that was a cup of coffee or hot chocolate with a carrot in it. then i read the caption.

Leave a Reply

