Free Food

11 Jun

NOTE: This entry contains pictures of fish with EYES. If you’re going to go all squeamish on me, don’t scroll down.

When I was a teenager I went through a weird stage of feeling ill all the time and not being able to eat much. Thankfully I’ve grown out of it and now I love, love, love food. Whether it be in a fancy restaurant or good hearty home-cooked comfort food, if it’s edible I’m loving it.

And my favourite type of food? Anything I can get my mitts on for free. Invite us round for a meal, we’re there. Got any left overs? Yes please. Want to go ‘hunter-gathering?’ DEFINATLEY!

As you know we’re trying to spend as little as possible at the moment, but still, thankfully our fridge and freezer are overflowing with meat and fish. And guess what? None of it came from a shop.

Yes! I love it. We’re getting to eat local meat and fish which will have travelled only a matter of miles to our plates, and all for free.

The other day Josh went out shooting with our friend Reuben and bagged us a nice rabbit which is waiting in my freezer for cooking. I’ve never even eaten rabbit before, let alone cooked it so I really hope that it works out okay. I am thinking of cooking ‘rabbit and mushroom hotpot’ which will hopefully prevent the rabbit drying out, which apparently it’s prone to do.

And today Reuben came up trumps again. He’s been out sea fishing all day and so gave us two lovely Bream to cook up. MMMMMMM.

Sea Bream

Again, Bream is a fish that I have never cooked so I’m now off to look for some recipes.

Has anyone got any suggestions for either rabbit or bream?

P.S For some very amusing ‘discussion’ on the ethics of eating wild animals check out this post over at Musings of a Stonehead and scroll down to the (many) comments. It does contain pictures of gutting a rabbit though – so beware.

2 Responses to “Free Food”

  1. Stonehead June 11, 2009 at 10:36 pm #

    Are you trolling for my nutters? Because you’re quite welcome to them!

    Thanks for the mention.

  2. Camille June 12, 2009 at 1:23 pm #

    Ummm…no. I have never cooked or thought of cooking a rabbit unless it was over a fire in the wilderness and I had to eat it to survive. But it sounds interesting, and maybe I should send Kyle out with a gun and ask him to bring one home for me… And I’ve never heard of Bream, but you weren’t kidding—those suckers have some MONSTER eyes! : ) Good luck, and let us know how everything goes!

Leave a Reply

