Back to School

4 Jul

Hello World!
I am still alive, don’t worry. But, you know – now Josh is working and we’re in the money we’ve been out living the high life – meals out every night, going to the theatre, taking baths in £50 notes and the like.

Actually no – we’ve just been busy, and trying to make sure we actually see each other properly now that Josh is working odd timed shifts. I’ve had such a lot of ideas for blog posts but it seems that it never gets done.

Firstly, thanks to Chloe and Maureen who have both kindly given me a ‘MeMe’ award. Thanks girls. I will get round to answering the 7 questions and passing it on soon…I promise.

Secondly, (and I’ve been meaning to post about this for two weeks) I AM DOING AN INTENSIVE WELSH COURSE NEXT WEEK! Why am I writing that in capitals you ask? Well, because quite frankly, I’m terrified!

I guess a lot of English people see Wales as just an extension of their country. However, Welshies, especially from the more rural northern parts are very nationalistic. Signs in Aberystwyth are often graffitied with ‘Where’s the Welsh’ (but in Welsh obviously) if they haven’t got Welsh translations and people can get quite sniffy if you can’t speak Welsh back to them.
Although that’s a bit rude and unnecessary, I can see where they are coming from. Learning Welsh is something that has been on my to-do list for three or four years, but I have never seemed to have the time or money (or guts) to do it before.

Now that Josh is hoping to go into the Church in Wales unless he wants to spend the rest of his life stuck in Pembrokeshire he needs to learn Welsh – especially as he would rather work in rural areas – so we’re biting the bullet and learning, even if he doesn’t get through. A week’s intensive course next week and then weekly lessons from September.

I just know I’m going to be rubbish at it though. I find languages really hard to learn, and Welsh is meant to be one of the hardest. Even the alphabet stumps me, without getting on to the grammar and mutations (my heart rate has just tripled thinking about it).

I’m lucky in that I’m surrounded by Welsh all the time, and although you can easily never speak a work of Welsh in Aberystwyth if you concentrate you can be learning all the time, so I’m hoping that it won’t be as hard as I’m imagining. I’ll let you know how it goes…eek!

4 Responses to “Back to School”

  1. maureenlynn July 4, 2009 at 1:43 pm #

    I have been the same way with posting lately. Good ideas, but never enough time to write them down. Oh well.

    Good luck with the Welsh!

  2. Thomas July 6, 2009 at 10:07 pm #

    I’m sure you’ll be brilliant at Welsh. First because women are better at learning languages than men, and also you’re the type of person that sets themself to something. I’m back in Aber on Saturday for graduation so will probably see you!

  3. Camille July 7, 2009 at 1:03 am #

    Well I think that’s fantastic! I sort of wish I was learning Welsh! I find languages very interesting.

  4. Craidd July 18, 2009 at 12:59 pm #

    Good luck with the Welsh, I just finished my first year through the university’s adult education courses. You will be great, plus it will help you feel more a part of the Aber community.

Leave a Reply

