I originally forgot to give this a title…I can’t think of anything witty so this will have to do

22 Jul

I’m finally, reluctantly writing a blog entry under the instruction of my beloved brother (don’t use online translators – they make up words). I haven’t written an entry for a long time, I know. I’ve been busy doing various, unblog worthy things and (at the risk of sounding old) the days have just been rushing by.

Blogging hasn’t been at the top of my agenda, and to be totally honest my fingers have been hovering over the ‘delete blog’ button an awful lot lately.
If it wasn’t for the fact that my family use it to keep up with our comings and goings I would have clicked it by now. I feel like time is rushing by with nothing much to report, life is dull.

Or maybe I’m just tired and grumpy because work has been really busy lately and I haven’t been able to be bothered to go on the computer again when I get home, and soon things will be back to normal and I’ll get over it.

Yes, I think that’s probably right too. The world’s best advice. Get. Over. It.

ANYWAY (sorry, feeling a bit weird today), lets attempt to do some sort of recap of the last few weeks…

Welsh week was really tiring but good. It surprising how even a small amount of Welsh can help you understand things that are around all the time. However I haven’t really been practicing (for the reasons stated above) and feel like I have probably forgotten quite a lot. I enjoyed being back in an academic environment though and having my brain stretched by something other than people complaining about the fact they can’t work the carpark machine. I also now own a bilingual diary, but I made Josh buy if from the Welsh shop because I was too scared.

The weekend after the Welsh course we went away to Ffald-y-Benin to sooth our tired minds. It’s a Christian retreat centre in the middle of nowhere. Very, very relaxing and absolutely beautiful. It was also really exciting and encouraging to hear of some of the stuff that is going on there. They have a really powerful Christian healing ministry and it was great to hear some first-hand stories about how they have seen God working in awesome ways – growing people’s limbs back and things like that. They have written a book about it called ‘The Grace Outpouring’ which is meant to be really good, and which I plan to read soon. Available from all good bookshops (including mine!).

View from Ffald-y-Brenin

View from Ffald-y-Brenin

Then it was back to office to find a huge mound of things that needed to be done. I’ve been working flat out for the last 2 weeks and have just about caught up with things now. I have been doing a lot of design work which I love, so it wasn’t all bad (such as the postcard featured in the last post)

I think that’s about it for now. If you’re in Aber we would love to see you at the film festival each Wednesday at 7.30pm and if you’ve got kids that are already bored by the summer holiday don’t forget to check out the Showstoppers holiday club that is starting next Monday in the bandstand – it’s free!

2 Responses to “I originally forgot to give this a title…I can’t think of anything witty so this will have to do”

  1. Keith July 22, 2009 at 3:12 pm #

    Hurrah, hurrah, and hurrah again. You don’t know how empty my days feel when there are no new blog entries about life in whales. Well – if the truth be told – not very empty, but I wanted to cheer you up and encourage you with your blogging.

    Showstoppers – we’re in the middle of ours now, three days down, two and a funday on Saturday to go. The children are really enjoying it and I will need to put a picture of our (at least) 9 foot Goliath that the children made yesterday on my blog in the next few days.

    Today we did Daniel in the lions den, and some of the children acted out the story as I told it – unfortunately, most of the lions hadn’t heard the story before, so Daniel got eated before the angel could turn up to shut their mouths.

  2. Camille July 23, 2009 at 2:17 am #

    DON’T DELETE YOUR BLOG! You are the only reader I have in Wales (or Great Britian at all {actually there is one reader in Ireland, but nevermind}). I would be devastated if you went away. I need to feel fancy by having foreign friends!

Leave a Reply

