Chavs of the Sky

27 Jul

As any good Devonshire lass should – I know that you should never feed Dartmoor ponies or seagulls.
I’m one of those crazy looking locals that mutter darkly whenever they walk past a tourist feeding the ‘cute ickle animals’.

And you know why?

Because it’s us locals that have to deal with the ‘cute ickle animals’ when you’ve swanned off home, when –due to your feeding – they are no longer cute or ‘ickle. Instead they turn into monsters which don’t think twice about biting, kicking, pecking or stealing to get the food that they now assume is for them. Even when it’s on the way to my mouth.

1Image from here (check the other pictures out – they’re hilarious)

It’s no secret that seagulls are driving me insane at the moment. They are out of control in Aber. You can’t go anywhere in the town centre without seeing them lining the roofs and hearing them screeching away – day and night. On bin day it’s like walking through a third-world slum, rather than a civilised western town when all the birds have been pulling the bags to shreds.

I’m not the only one who thinks this way either. There is currently a petition going round town calling for the council to start controlling numbers. They can’t do it too soon in my opinion – I have had enough of waking up at 3am because a seagull is doing a velociraptor impression outside my window.

However…I have got one weakness.

At heart I’m still an animal lover…and that means when a one legged seagull turns up outside my house I can’t help falling in love…and calling her Stumpy Ethel. I mean, come on – I’m British, I’ve got to root for the underdog (…err undergull?).

Over the last two months it’s been great getting to know Stumpy Ethel’s habits, meeting her husband and then realising that she was sitting on an egg!

And last week was the big day – a little bundle of fluff made it’s flappy way out onto the roof top for the first time! We named him Damien.

IMG_9402

So there we have it…Even though I profess to despise seagulls to the end, maybe I’m not such a seagull hater at all. Well, until the next time they wake me up anyway.

6 Responses to “Chavs of the Sky”

  1. chloe86 July 28, 2009 at 12:17 pm #

    Oh… I’m a seagull hater. That’s for sure. I saw how they attacked people in Barcelona! There they tried to steal my food!! MY FOOD!! I’m sorry, but I can’t forgive them. FOOD is sacred for me! I’m like Joey (from Friends) and I don’t share food!

  2. Jasmine July 28, 2009 at 2:19 pm #

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! Yours is charming!

    I lived in Venice for four months and found the same issue with the pigeons. It was the best thing when the city outlawed the feed sellers from the Piazza, but that just led tourists to feeding the pigeons McDonald’s french fries.

  3. Linda July 28, 2009 at 4:11 pm #

    I’ve had my Carnish pasty, en-route to my mouth, stolen by a thug of a seagull in St.Ives !!! There I was, sitting on a low wall by the harbour, minding my own business, when I was swooped upon! It was actually quite scary as well as very annoying. I know they’ve had ‘Do not feed’ notices there for years as well.

    But I am also with you on small, fluffy anythings. My husband insists on topping up our bird feeders all year round in case they are hungry (Huh!!) and we do feel pride in the range of birds who visit us. Anything obviously young, like a lost baby hedgehog, is worried and fretted over.
    I take it you won’t be feeding Damien, though!

    • Rachel July 28, 2009 at 5:18 pm #

      I do get tempted sometimes but luckily it’s pretty much impossible to throw food over to him at the moment!

  4. Thomas February 22, 2010 at 7:18 pm #

    I’ve been looking through your blog to find a particular post (still looking) but saw this one. I HATE it when people feed ponies. Someone fed one and got kicked (not too badly) but it pleased me. I also tell people off.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Stumpy Ethel Update « - August 31, 2009

    […] hope so because otherwise Stumpy Ethel is looking poorly […]

Leave a Reply

