Rated

6 Feb

I just love to watch films. I think it’s just a form of escapism because I’m perfectly happy to curl up for hours with a good novel too. Josh and I watch at least one film a week and it’s something we like to do together to relax.

However, I am really sensitive to violent films and horror films. To watch a scary or violent film is about as far from relaxing as I can get. They scare me.

 

Take the scary film we accidently rented the other night – Knowing with Nicolas Cage. It’s about a guy who finds a code – written 50 years before – which has accurately predicted every major disaster that has occurred in the previous fifty years, with three incidents still left to happen.

There’s one particular plane crash scene which is basically just a couple of minutes of carnage, screaming and people running around burning to death.

At least that’s what Josh told me happened. I wouldn’t know – I was underneath the covers with my fingers in my ears humming a happy tune.

 

People probably think I’m far too sensitive…‘Knowing’ is rated a 15 and the CGI wasn’t even that great, but still, I just don’t want to see that kind of thing! I’ve got a ridiculously over active imagination and I know that I will end up thinking about it over and over again.

I even found Sherlock Holmes a bit scary and that is rated to be suitable for under twelve’s. I just don’t understand what criteria they use when they rate these films. Fine, it didn’t have any sex in it and there wasn’t much swearing. But it was really quite violent and someone burnt to death in it too.

I just wouldn’t want my child to be watching something like that and for them to see it again when they close their eyes at night.
But maybe that is why I am so sensitive, because I wasn’t even allowed to watch power rangers when I was younger because it was deemed too violent.
But I think that’s okay. I am glad that I haven’t been completely desensitised to violence by watching it from a very young age. I think sometimes, when that happens we forget that when real disasters/ violence happens there are actually real people involved with real families and emotions.

For now, I’m seriously considering only renting out films with a rating under 15.

SO what do you think? What film rating are you happy to watch? Do you think I’m being over sensitive? What films would you recommend we watch?

5 Responses to “Rated”

  1. Chloe February 6, 2010 at 9:54 pm #

    Oh You’re just like me!!!!
    I thought I was the only one!!
    I couldn’t watch the Lord of the Rings, because I found it too scary for me…
    And that film of Nicolas Cage… I had nightmares!!!
    So I’m over sensitive too… But I don’t care. That’s me. I hate violence and blood and monsters…

  2. Mummy February 8, 2010 at 8:21 pm #

    I’m glad you have remember what we tried to teach you….If you see something you can’t un-see it, and you will remember it more than something you hear.

    Try watching The Famous Five or Noddy!!

  3. Marla February 8, 2010 at 11:34 pm #

    Yeah… I hate scary films. “Knowing” is currently sitting next to our television. Maybe I should just ship it back to Netflix and forget I ever had the opportunity to watch it.

    • Rachel February 8, 2010 at 11:37 pm #

      Oh dear! It only took me about a day of get over it which is much better than normal – if that helps!?

  4. Malc February 11, 2010 at 4:17 pm #

    There’s almost certainly a correlation between what critics consider ‘good’ films and the level to which you respond to it emotionally. This usually means that ‘good’ films portray a fair amount of physical and emotional pain. It’s a shame that films aren’t appreciated more often for their ability to help you relax and be enjoy yourself. The critic Mark Kermode who’s on 5 Live and The Culture Show is good in this respect – he chose not to slate Mamma Mia! or the High School Musical films. He also doesn’t like Knowing but more because he thinks Nicholas Cage is a rubbish actor and he’s a big fan of Pan’s Labyrinth which is very enjoyable but has several harrowing scenes in quick succession. Don’t bother with that one.

Leave a Reply

