The art of feeding boys

11 Mar

Howdy!

No, I haven’t fallen off the edge of a cliff – but I have been cooking!

I’ve been thinking about getting this cookbook for a while…

 

If you’re a blogger and you haven’t heard of The Pioneer Woman, where have you been? If you aren’t a blogger and you haven’t heard of The Pioneer Woman, you should definitely go and check her site out!

Anyway, Amanda over at Growth Chart Moments blogged about one of PW’s recipes the other day and it pushed me over the edge into buying the book (AND I had an Amazon voucher so it was free, which might have had something to do with it!).

Even if you don’t ever buy this book go and check out PW’s recipe pages. She makes everything so simple but it tastes SO GOOD!

 

So, after getting inspiration from Amanda I decided to make Chicken Pot Pie.

On a side note, this recipe uses left over chicken. In my house we very rarely have left over chicken because we’re not a ‘roast’ kind of household. In my parents house growing up we have delicious roasts every Sunday, but because we have been on such a tight budget for the first two years of marriage we just never got into the habit. SO – we bought and roasted our very own chicken (actually Josh did it and I made ‘helpful’ comments) – our very own growth chart moment!!

Josh was out watching rugby the day that I cooked and, because we had already frozen our chicken before we roasted it I knew that I wouldn’t be able to reheat the pie once it had been cooked, so I told Josh to bring back some men from the rugby to help us eat it.

There is something very satisfying about feeding blokes who don’t feed themselves. These just-out-of –uni-still-eating-pasta-men tend to go into raptures about your food in ways that other people don’t. Very satisfying!
After we had eaten the pie (and had trifle for pudding) the boys took me out to try and teach me to play snooker.
Lets just say – I think they enjoyed my food more than I enjoyed their entertainment!!

SO, in short – go and check out the recipe for Chicken Pot Pie because it is super easy and very very very very yummy.

Over and out.

2 Responses to “The art of feeding boys”

  1. Amanda March 11, 2010 at 6:02 pm #

    Awesome!!!!

    Thanks for the mention. 🙂

    I don’t ever buy a whole bird, so I just used chicken breasts. I bet yours probably turned out better because you had the different types of meat (light and dark) and even the bone in to flavor the meat while it cooked. I’m impressed. 🙂

    I loved the part about how rewarding it is to feed men who don’t feed themselves. Isn’t that the truth!? It makes a woman feel proud. 🙂

    And, what’s snooker??

  2. Jerry March 18, 2010 at 5:05 pm #

    I have tried, oh so many times, to learn how to cook properly and while what I make is usually successful, for some reason that escapes me, I just can’t keep the recipies in my head! Somebody might say to me “can you make spaghetti bollognaise” and I would reply “why yes, I can”, but if somebody were to ask me to MAKE them one, I’d have to turn to a recipe book!

Leave a Reply

