Holiday Organisation

12 Jun

Warning – this post contains pictures of copious lists which may burn the eyes of the disorganised.

*******************************

I know that I should be posting about what has happened in the last five weeks, and it will come eventually I promise. I have some great photos to share.

But for now, I wanted to share something that’s happening in the future, because well quite frankly I’M SO EXCITED I CAN’T THINK OF ANYTHING ELSE!

I am, of course, talking about our holiday to Shetland in July. We booked it back in February, and for the next few months it predictably melted into the back of our minds as busy life took over.
But now, with only just a month to go we have been finishing off all the planning and booking of tickets and hotels that we need to do.

And that my friends, means I have turned into a holiday organising whirlwind.

I don’t know what it is about me, but I can’t seem to function without lists. Although I’m SUPER excited about this holiday, it’s a potential stress for me too. I’ve never done the travelling thing. I didn’t take off on a spontaneous round-the-world gap year after school, I’ve never had to organise flights before, and it’s the first time we’ve really had to work out a holiday budget and try and fit transport and accommodation around it.

As a result it’s on my mind most of the time, and I have that squiggle of excitement in my stomach every time I think about it!  So…what do I do? I make lists!

This is my holiday notebook which I keep with me in my bag. Anytime I think of something that needs to be done, or something that would be useful to pack I can just scrawl it down in the book, because I know full well that five minutes later it will be gone from my mind. As a result, I hope to be super organised when the time actually comes for packing and travelling, and that will take away any potential stress from doing all these new things.

 

Anyway, enough of my weird control freakish nature…

The holiday we’re booked on is a ready prepared wildlife extravaganza. We’ll be having midnight boat trips [it doesn’t really get dark in Shetland in the summer] to see European Storm Petrels come into roost. (photo from here)

We’ll be taking boats, and walking along cliffs to see huge sea bird colonies, spotting dolphins, seals and maybe even killer whales [this is top of my do before I die list!]
We’ll be otter and red-necked phalarope spotting and so much more.

Josh and I are a little concerned that we’re going to be the youngest on this trip by about twenty-five years, but we’re hoping we’ll be proved wrong and will embrace it even if we’re not!

I’m going to use my planning notebook as a journal when we get there so I don’t forget a single sight, sound or smell of our trip, so you can be sure I’ll be sharing it with you as well!

Anyone got any tips for travel?

4 Responses to “Holiday Organisation”

  1. Jan June 12, 2010 at 7:24 pm #

    You should try moving house and buying a business!!! My to do list gets longer and longer!!!!

  2. Chloe June 12, 2010 at 8:48 pm #

    Tips? Hmmm… Nope. But I need to-do lists to organise anything. Even for my wedding. Everyday I (need to) make a to-do list, because if I don’t, I forget lots of things.
    Hope you enjoy your holidays!!! It seems you’ll do lots of exciting things! Good for you!

  3. Keith June 14, 2010 at 12:22 am #

    The second item on your list is to write a list ! Welcome back to the world of blogging

  4. Gill June 15, 2010 at 6:25 pm #

    He! He! I noticed the same as Keith – you have ‘write a list’ on your list! Have you ever tried Mind Mapping?

Leave a Reply

