Sick as a…Redstart?

17 Jun

I’m feeling blue today.

Actually, it’s probably more accurate to say that I’m feeling green – I’m sick.

This is annoying for two reasons:

1)      Being sick is one of the things I hate most in the world. Yarg.

2)      Today is the first day of five days I have off from work. I had to take them as my work year comes to an end next week and I still had a few days to take. We hadn’t planned anything, but were hoping to throw the tent in the car and go somewhere nice and enjoy some gorgeous weather.
Instead, all I have been enjoying is the view of my toilet bowl. And I use the term enjoy very loosely here.

Anyway, enough of my whining. I had planned a post today about how Josh and I have been spending our days off over the last few months.

It was all about maps.

Bet you’re devastated that I’m too sick to bother.

Instead I will just post some pictures of some great little birds we have seen recently.

 

For those of you not in know (and believe me, I’m not in the know but I will try and sound like I am) this is a Redstart.

Josh reliably informs me that my parents-in-law (who live in Devon) would sell their limbs to get such great views as we have recently. From that I take it that they’re pretty rare in Britain.

Apparently mid-Wales is a stronghold for them, but until now I have only ever caught fleeting glimpses of red high up in the canopy.

However, because we have been exploring more recently and have gone to some more remote places the birds have seemed a lot bolder and we have had some great views.

I will leave you with a picture that accurately sums up how I currently feel 🙂

6 Responses to “Sick as a…Redstart?”

  1. Thomas June 17, 2010 at 11:32 pm #

    I really hope you get better soon. And I’m eagerly anticipating the post about maps.

  2. Chloe June 18, 2010 at 8:07 am #

    I hope you get better soon and can enjoy your days off!!
    Those pictures are beautiful!
    That last photo is so funny!! LOL

  3. Ros June 18, 2010 at 8:33 am #

    Hope your feeling better soon! They’re really good pictures, beautifully sharp. xxx

  4. Mummy June 19, 2010 at 12:27 pm #

    Sorry you’re poorly and that I can’t be there to clear up after you like I used to!!!

  5. Tiffany June 21, 2010 at 3:02 pm #

    I hope you’re feeling better now that’s it’s been a few days! Being sick is terrible. Pretty little birds, by the way… do you just spot them around your house?

  6. Gill August 15, 2010 at 6:52 pm #

    sick? um, am I the only one wondering whether you might possibly be pregnant? it’s my age!

Leave a Reply

