Oooo. Mae’n gas ‘da fi dosbarth Cymraeg!

10 Jan

Hello friends. I sit here with a tired mind, as I’ve been struggling with my Welsh revision for the last couple of hours. I don’t really talk much on the blog about our Welsh lessons, probably because I try to forget they exist from week to week!

Every Tuesday, for the last year and a half, we have been going to intensive Welsh lessons. Four hours a week of torture in my opinion.

Although I love to learn I’ve never really got on with the lessons for two reasons:

–          I’m not very confident in front of a group of people and I just freeze and panic like a rabbit in headlights whenever the teacher asks me a question. I almost always get it wrong because I panic which makes me feel stupid and embarrassed.

–          I don’t have the motivation to do work outside of class. It’s an intensive class so we move on quickly and I need to be doing work at home to keep up. As a result I don’t feel very confident and the gap between people who do their work and the slackers like me is getting larger and more obvious.

Ugggghhhh…I really hate going and I really, really wish I could quit –but I don’t because I’m so stubborn that I hate admitting to myself and everyone else that I’m bad at something!(I’m pretty sure that’s not a good trait!)

Every week I tell myself I’ll work harder and that I’ll do revision, and that I know I could be good if I just applied myself. And then every week I procrastinate and find any opportunity not to do my work!

Well…now I’ve made myself accountable. I’ve put it on the blog! I’ve also contacted a friend to try and organise some extra-curricular practice sessions. She’s about the same level as me and I’m thinking that if we have sessions together the competitiveness of keeping up with her will spur me on to do some work!

Until then I will sit here feeling my stomach churning with nerves every time I think about my class tomorrow 😦
I’ll let you know how it goes. Hwyl!

6 Responses to “Oooo. Mae’n gas ‘da fi dosbarth Cymraeg!”

  1. Amanda January 10, 2011 at 10:38 pm #

    That’s great that you’re sticking with it. I have only ever ‘spoken’ Welsh once, and that was when I learned to sing the National Anthem. It’s very difficult if you ask me! Good luck! Feel free to add some Welsh in your posts (just don’t forget to leave a translation for us Yankees) 🙂

  2. Chloe January 12, 2011 at 8:36 am #

    WOW. Welsh. Welsh seems so difficult to me.
    I also freeze in front of a group and panic. I hated my Interpreting classes… They caused me some heart problems! (seriously!!)
    Glad you’re stubborn and you’re sticking with it! I’m sure you’ll improve soon!

  3. I-Chant January 13, 2011 at 10:38 pm #

    Da iawn ti! We’ve also been taking dosbarth Cymraeg… 2.5 years now. I like languages, so it’s fun for me, but I completely agree with you about freezing up. I find it really hard to talk with fluent speakers, mostly because I can’t understand their accents! Pob loc!

  4. Linda January 15, 2011 at 11:03 am #

    Welsh is known to be one of the most difficult languages to learn. It was my first language, but we had to learn English to go to school, and then my parents died when I was young, so I stopped using it. I did ‘O’ level Welsh, and can still, many years later, understand some of what is said on the TV, providing it is not so fast that the words run into one another. Speaking it is another matter, however. The way words change depending on whether the subject/object is deemed to be male or female totally confuses me, and I, too, am very wary of making a mistake in public. We were further confused in school by having a North Walian teach us for conversational Welsh. And there is also the fact that ‘book’ and ‘TV’ Welsh is quite different to what you will hear on the street.
    So don’t feel so bad about it. (I found Latin much more logical!)

  5. OogieM January 15, 2011 at 4:06 pm #

    Just stumbled upon this today. I’m in the US and raise Black Welsh Mountain Sheep and also trying to learn Welsh, on my own. I agree it’s hard! At least you have classes and Welsh speakers to talk to! My sheep never seem to answer 😉 Anyway, hang in there. I’ve managed to get all the way through an on-line Beginners course. and am starting on the Intermediate one now.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Five Fact Friday « Dreaming of the Country - February 4, 2011

    […] You might remember that I ranted about my Welsh classes a few weeks ago. Well, they’re actually going much better recently. […]

Leave a Reply

