Blog Bible Study #2

16 Feb

The Pursuit of God – Chapter 2 :: A Heart Abiding by God’s Word

What meant the most to you from this chapter or what offered you the greatest challenge or inspired you deeply?
I really liked this chapter. I thought it was set out in a really helpful and concise way. I was especially challenged by the story she told of the woman who spent time with God before each seminar she was teaching at a conference and was much more calm and controlled as a response. I’m so often in the same situation [frantic church activities] and I long to be calm, peaceful and trusting in God!

Drawing Life from God’s Word
“Am I flourishing or failing? Thriving or wilting? Blossoming or withering? These are questions we would do well to ask ourselves regularly about our spiritual condition. And abiding in God’s Word is one sure way to develop a root system that causes us to draw from the Lord all we need to enjoy a flourishing, thriving, blossoming life. Let’s take a few minutes to learn more about roots. 

*Roots are unseen — How is your “underground” life, the time you spend abiding in God’s Word and prayer out of sight, alone, in secret? Before we move on, search your heart and jot down a few honest answers to this all-important question.
I am grateful to God that my devotional life with him has grown so much in the last few years. I work at a church and it’s quite easy to be immersed in God’s word all the time as we have prayer meetings and bible studies as part of our staff meetings etc.. Through that I have come to LOVE reading and studying God’s word more and so it’s easier to find the motivation to have a devotional time on my own.
However, I’m still a long way from where I would like to be! I need to work more on the prayer side of my devotionals.

*What is the first word of Psalm 1, a psalm that spends three verses describing a woman (or man) who is flourishing, thriving and blooming?
Blessed!

*How does the person of Psalm 1 approach the Word of God according to verse 2a?
He delights in the law of the Lord 

*And what does she do (verse 2b) with what she finds in God’s Word?
Meditates on it day and night

*Note the results listed in verse 3 that come from time spent in God’s Word:
Yield fruits in season, doesn’t wither, whatever he does prospers

*Roots are for taking in – – – Consider again my friend Karen and her time of “taking in” on pages 33-34. Are you more than breathless, frazzled, fretting, and worrying women in that scenario — or are you more like Karen, recognizing the need to slip away for a few minutes alone with the Lord when tensions mount? Write down an honest answer about how you tend to handle the pressures of life. Consider, too, how those closest to you would answer this question about you!
I’d actually say that people around me would say that I am calm in a crisis. I’m a church administrator so I’m faced with these situations all the time. I thank God that he has been growing the gift of patience in my life but I still need more and more! Even though I might seem like I’ve got things all under control I’m still stressed and annoyed under the surface more than I’d like! I’m good at being polite to people who are frustrating me in the office, but I’d rather just not be frustrated in the first place!!

This is a good time to look at Isaiah 58:11 in your Bible. Here God describes the blessings that will be poured out upon those who seek after God in the right ways. List them here.
God will guide us always, satisfy our needs when things are tough, strengthen us. We will flourish like a well-watered garden, and a spring that doesn’t dry up.

How can you remember to sink your roots down deeper to take in the “waters {that} do not fail” when lifts heats up?
Keep reading God’s word and remember the good things he has done in our lives in the past and in the lives of others. TESTIMONY!

*Roots are for storage – – – When I go through tough and trying times, I try to think of every verse of Scripture that I’ve memorized that can help me through those trials. Do you have a reservoir of verses hidden in your heart? Can you write down two or three that you could (or do) draw upon for strength and endurance?
But I am like an olive tree flourishing in the house of God; I trust in God’s unfailing love for ever and ever. I will praise you for ever for what you have done; in your name I will hope, for your name is good. I will praise you in the presence of your saints.
(Psalm 52: 8-9)

*Roots are for support — Is yours a life marked by the repeated need to be constantly staked up, tied up, propped up and straightened up, until the next wind comes along and you topple once again? If so, what will you do today to strengthen your root system in the Lord so that you can profit from the power a network of strong roots provides?
The last two years for us have been those of immense growth. It’s been painful at times, but I have LOVED how God has been ‘strengthening our root system’ through it all. He’s been teaching us more about ourselves and more about him and has taught us to rely on him again and again. I’m so glad that I have experienced that ‘the joy of the Lord is our strength’. Even when physically I’ve been exhausted and down my heart has still been rejoicing because of God’s goodness. It’s a weird feeling to describe! My prayer is that I’ll always remember these times so that it will strengthen us when further trials come.

And now it’s time to dream (see pages 39-41)! Jot down today’s date and then describe the woman you desire to be spiritually in one year.
I love that this is one of the questions as I was actually only thinking about this the other day and discussing it with my mentor. I’ve was considering who I would like to be spiritually and realised that all the things I was thinking about were in a round about way the fruits of the spirit! I just wanted to be more like Jesus without realising it!

I would like to be:
– Understanding more of the bible and having a closer dialogue with God on a daily basis.
– Using my full range of gifts to glorify God
– Growing more patient, humble and gentle with people around me, and learning how to be a better wife.
– I’d like to have more wisdom and courage to help others with their relationship with God.
– I want to be living each day to the full making the most of each opportunity God gives me.

Next describe the woman you desire to be spiritually ten years from now.
It’s so crazy that in ten years I’m probably going to be a vicar’s wife!!! Oh, I am SO SO SO excited about the opportunities we’re going to have! I just long for us to be leading a church which is completely Christ centred. I hope that even though it’s going to be TOUGH we will never stray from God’s truth and leadership and start doing things our way.

Did I mention I’m going to be a VICAR’S WIFE!!!! [no – the news hasn’t really sunk in yet!!]

Head on over to Rebekah or Monica’s to see what everyone else has to say about this chapter!

4 Responses to “Blog Bible Study #2”

  1. Laura February 16, 2011 at 1:51 pm #

    I love that you said part of getting the roots to sink in is remember what God has done for us. I think so often we get in to tough times and we just forget who God is. Silly.

  2. Linda February 16, 2011 at 2:21 pm #

    Only just read your last post – WELL DONE TO JOSH! This is going to be so exciting for you both. I’m sure it will involve many challenges and perhaps some sacrifices, but you will get through them together.

  3. Monica February 16, 2011 at 2:39 pm #

    Great Post! I love where you want to me in 1 year and 10 years. There were so many to list, I know I missed some 🙂 Thanks so much for linking up!

  4. Rebekah February 16, 2011 at 3:23 pm #

    I think that’s what I try to remember during the trials and trying times. They’re there for a reason and I hope to learn something from it so I will be stronger! God is going to do amazing things in your life!

Leave a Reply

