Five Fact Friday

18 Feb

1. I was given a very beautiful congratulatory bunch of flowers by my Mentor today, which brought me a lot of joy!

2. Our car has now supposedly been fixed. We had it done by a welsh farmer out in the sticks and he had to change lots of parts and it costs lots of money. He said that it was a rubbish car and it ‘drove like a donkey’. HAHAHA, love the Welsh!

3. Yesterday was my day off and we went to Pontrhydygroes hoping to see the Golden Eagle which has been hanging around there. We got out of the car and saw it soaring above us straight away! I got an unsatisfactory photo to prove we’d seen it but it was flying very high.

4. I feel like I’ve failed in my new year’s resolution this month. I’ve eaten out quite a bit with friends, so need to try and cut down on that next month. Josh has completed his new year’s resolution which was to learn all 195 countries and capitals of the world off by heart. Geek!?

5. Part of my job is to welcome all sorts of people into church and make them feel welcome. We’ve currently got a homeless man coming in regularly with long black hair. He seems fine but obviously doesn’t have many social skills because he says some weird things and often stands at the hatch window staring at me. I just got my co-worker to go and speak to him today and he said he was ‘looking at the clock and admiring the attractive receptionist [me!]! Not sure whether to be freaked out or flattered! I’m praying that we can deal with him really well as it’s actually a bit of a daunting situation sometimes!

Hope you’ve all had a great week.

Quick Questions:
1. Have you ever seen an eagle?
2. How do you deal with people in awkward situations?
3. How many countries and capitals can you name? [I can do about 5!]

6 Responses to “Five Fact Friday”

  1. Keith February 19, 2011 at 7:51 pm #

    Looks like a crow

    • Keith February 19, 2011 at 10:50 pm #

      Just take care with the homeless guy rachel – it may be appropraite to let someone else deal with him – I was stalked by one of our special needs volunteers at the coffee shop!

      • Keith February 19, 2011 at 10:50 pm #

        that was su not keith!

  2. Melissa February 20, 2011 at 1:37 am #

    HAHA, this post was great! Idk about awkward situations… i mean, i’m IN them often enough but i don’t have great advice on how to handle them. Just be kind to the homeless guy, but not TOO kind… gah, i hate awkward situations!

    That is hilarious that your husband’s new year’s resolution was to learn the countries! Idk why, that made me laugh! :)Idk if i could name very many at all!

  3. Amanda February 22, 2011 at 11:59 pm #

    *I’ve never seen a Golden Eagle that I know of, but I’ve seen a few Bald Eagles. In Alaska and across the street from my church. We are so amazed that a pair of eagles has set up a nest in the park across the street from the church. (It’s pretty far from the road, so it takes good binoculars to see them. I’ve only seen them from a far)
    *In awkward situations, I just try to remain nice. At the book signing I was at this weekend, a stranger came up and asked me where I was born. Then told me she wanted to have a c-section when she has a baby. Okay, lady, have a nice day!
    *I don’t even want to try to count how many countries and capitals I know for fear of feeling so embarrassed. I’ll just remain impressed by your hubby. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Hearing from God about anxiety « Dreaming of the Country - March 12, 2011

    […] week I woke up with a start because I’d just dreamt that I turned round in my office chair and our resident homeless man was in the office looking at me. It was a very short dream and he didn’t do anything but I knew he […]

Leave a Reply

