All you need is LOVE challenge – day 4

10 Feb

Today’s question over at the Valentine’s Swap and Challenge is

For Valentine’s Day I {LOVE} to bake/cook… {share a recipe!}

Regular readers will know my opinions on Valentine’s Day, so we don’t normally cook anything special. But I thought I would share one my all-time favourite recipes for special occasions/ entertaining.
It looks and tastes amazing but is VERY simple a quick to prepare.

Salmon Parcels with Watercress Sauce (serves 4 – easily halved)

I think this was originally off a Sainsbury’s recipe Card, but I have been making it since my early teens so I can’t remember! The chill of the watercress sauce is just lovely with the warm flakiness of the salmon. Makes my mouth water just thinking about it!

  • 1 Tbsp of butter, melted
  • 2 onions, sliced
  • sprigs of fresh dill (I never use this as I never have dill around!!!)
  • 4 salmon steaks
  • salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 lemon
  • 40g butter
  • 175g fromage frais
  • 75g pack of fresh watercress, finely chopped

1. Preheat the oven to 180°C, 350°;F, Gas Mark 4.

2. Brush 4 sheets of foil with melted butter.

3. Divide the onion between each piece of foil, and place a sprig of dill on the onion.

4. Place one salmon steak on top of the onion and dill and squeeze over the lemon juice.

5. Add seasoning to taste and a knob of butter.

6. Wrap the foil around the fish to form a parcel and place on a baking tray in the preheated oven for 20-25 minutes.

7. Meanwhile, pour the fromage frais in a bowl and stir in the chopped watercress with seasoning to taste.

8. Remove the salmon from the foil and serve with the sauce and new potatoes.

Head on over to Neely’s; Sam’s or Courtney’s blog to link up and browse some other recipes!

One Response to “All you need is LOVE challenge – day 4”

  1. Courtney February 11, 2011 at 11:26 am #

    that sounds delicious! wow!
    all these recipes are making me hungry!

    thank you so much for linking up again!!!

Leave a comment