Can you help me with healthy eating?

12 Apr

I started this year with great intentions of eating more healthily. I was frustrated that I wasn’t really eating five fruit or veg a day when it’s really not hard if you plan your meals right.

For breakfast I would have some juice, and cereal or porridge with dried or fresh fruit and I was getting 3 or 4 of my five-a-day before I left for work. I replaced more unhealthy snacks with seeds and crackers and planned healthy meals packed full of vegetables.

Our new years resolution helped because without the option of nipping out for take-away food I had to plan what we would eat and I had to cook every night. We wasted less food and saved money.

Sounds great, right? Well life tends to get in the way sometimes. Getting ill seems to have knocked everything off balance for us at the moment. I haven’t been cooking, I haven’t been shopping, I haven’t really been cleaning and my new years resolution has gone down the drain. I’ve just been rushing around dreaming of the moment that I can walk through the door and collapse into bed.

More annoyingly I know that it is a catch 22 situation. If I don’t eat properly then I’ll have less energy to get better and actually enjoy life. Arrggh!

My sweet friend Gill is currently taking part in a project called Raw Food Rehab which intrigues me. It’s an 11 week programme called Go Fresh! where you have to try and eat as much raw, fresh food as you can. I won’t be taking part as hubby won’t really want to play along, but it’s a good principle to be thinking of when you plan meals.

Anyway, in order to try and get myself back on track I need your help {and I need to sleep for a 1000 years}. Please can you comment or link me to some quick, simple but nutritious meals or let me have your tips for healthy eating in a rush?

Thanks friends! 🙂

10 Responses to “Can you help me with healthy eating?”

  1. Chloe April 12, 2011 at 2:37 pm #

    I’m not good at healthy eating… So no tips from me… Sorry!!
    I always try to eat a salad a day… But I don’t know if that helps you! haha

  2. Maureen April 12, 2011 at 3:37 pm #

    Eating healthy is pretty much a constant struggle with my schedule. But I feel like I’m getting better. I have a few sources where I get healthy recipes. One is from a book I bought called Lighter, Quicker, Better, and another is recipe cards from the grocery store. Maybe I will start posting some of those. But my favorite, simple source is the blog Small Home, Big Start. She has a whole recipe page with lots of really good stuff on it. And she puts them into categories so you can pick what you want to make based on what you have.

  3. ticklepea April 12, 2011 at 7:19 pm #

    For lent James and I gave up eating meat and I find that forcing myself (read James because he does our cooking!) to find vegetarian alternatives to things makes us eat more healthily by default!

    I also find this blog quite inspiring for good ideas http://www.healthyfoodforliving.com, I really like the look of the macaroons she just posted about!

    Let us know how you get on, I always need more inspiration to eat better, my love for chocolate knows no end!

    Lindy xxx

  4. Tatiana April 12, 2011 at 7:36 pm #

    Don’t we all struggle with eating healthy? A tip that stuck with me after my nutrition teacher said it, is that whenever we want to have a late night snack, to grab a fruit instead of a whole meal. I also like to just put all kinds of fruits right on my counter so it would be easy for me to eat them since they are right in front of me 🙂

  5. Keith April 12, 2011 at 8:21 pm #

    Did you ever try that mixed bean curry? There’s also a red lentil and vegetable curry and a butternut squash risotto that we do quite a lot and both are very nice.

  6. AllThingsHuman April 12, 2011 at 10:54 pm #

    Actually eating healthy is very simple once you get a hang of it.
    I always have a batch of homemade sugar free granola on hand. Mix it up with some organic honey yoghurt for health start of the day. Replace your morning coffee with a cup of hot water with some mint, honey, lemon and ginger (make some up in thermos a night before to really get the flavours going).
    Eat your main meal at lunchtime. Go for soups with loads of veggies in winter (easy and quick to cook and you can make a batch that will last you 2-3 days), for dinner have some meet or fish with large salad (lettuce, tomatoes, beetroot, cucumbers with some homemade french dressing).
    To snack or not to snack is up to you. I personally don’t believe in eating in between meals, but if you have to – carrot sticks, cucumber sticks, some dried fruits usually will do the trick.

  7. Amanda April 13, 2011 at 1:54 am #

    OH how I wish I could help you! I know I’m trying to diet, but I’m sucking at it right now. (be warned, that when you post about a positive step in a healthy lifestyle Satan WILL attack you and you may not even realize it!)

    Today, my lunch looked like this: grapes, watermellon, apple with peanut butter slathered all over it :), raspberries, and graham crackers. Oh, and a Reeses Peanut Butter Egg. Amazing for my fruit intake, but horrible for a regular ‘eat healthy all day’ diet. My dinner was chicken and a salad.

    I eat a lot of salads for dinner-which kinda stinks after a while because I get really tired of salads.

    My son practically won’t eat anything BUT fruit and veggies, so we always have green peppers, bananas, cucumbers, strawberries, watermelon (just getting into season), grapes, apples, and tomatoes. And frozen veggies for dinner. They’re super easy.

    Good luck!! I’m off to those blogs the previous posters recommended. 🙂

  8. Cat April 14, 2011 at 2:48 pm #

    Popcorn (airpopped) is a great snack for warding off the munchies at night. For the day, I always have a couple of piece of low fat string cheese with me 🙂

  9. AllThingsHuman June 25, 2011 at 1:11 am #

    Cat, no offence but popcorn is probably the worst snack you can pick! Most of people can happily eat their weight in popcorn without even realising – and the calory content is horrific! I say if you use snack – stick wth veggie stuicks. I recently discovered wasabi peas… real treat!

Leave a comment