Aber Bucket List #9: achieved

6 May

Firstly, {and this won’t mean anything to people who don’t watch British TV or don’t care about nature} Spring Watch is coming to Ynys-Hir.

Yeeeaaah! That’s our patch! So excited!
I’m totally going to end up stalking the presenters around Aberystwyth like a FREAK!

Anyway …the real reason for this post is our Aberystwyth Bucket List.

Strata Florida Abbey was originally founded in 1164 and was a pretty influential place for hundreds of years. Nowa days it’s just a ruin but I’ve wanted to go and visit for a while now and last week we managed to make it out there.

It’s such a beautiful spot and if you ever get the chance to visit, go! It was so quiet and there were birds everywhere. We got great views of Redstarts as there must have been about 8 individuals flitting about.

There is also a grave-yard there which I was pretty excited about visiting. Dafydd ap Gwilym is buried there BUT I was more interested in…

The leg grave. Duh duh duuuuhhhh…
{Can you tell how thrilled Josh was at me making him pose? haha}

Apparently some guy had to had his leg amputated in the 1800s and so he had it buried here with a stone, inscription and picture of his leg. Amused me greatly.

We then headed up into the mountains to walk to the Teifi Pools.
On the way we met this little guy.

I haven’t had such good views of a stoat before so this was very exciting.

It was SUCH a beautiful day and we had a lovely time walking up the valley to the pools. Definitely worth being on the bucket list.
One down…nine to go;

Josh and Rachel’s Aberystwyth Bucket List

1. Watch the sun rise from Pendinas {the hill above the town}
2. See the submerged forest in Borth
3. Visit Soar y Mynydd
4. Buy a love spoon
5. Walk from Llanfair Clydogau to Tregaron
6. Have a bonfire and BBQ on the beach
7. Have a meal at the Harbour Master
8. Go dancing with all the gang
9. Visit Strata Florida
10. See Aberystwyth from the sea

I’ll leave you with this sheep. Notice anything weird?!

8 Responses to “Aber Bucket List #9: achieved”

  1. Amanda May 6, 2011 at 11:23 pm #

    I got all excited when I saw a Bucket List Post! I’m so anxious for you to do all the things on your list (and selfishly, to read about them and pretend I’m there- again).

    One of my most favorite thing about The British Isles is all the castle ruins. I feel like I could just stand there for hours, imagining how life would have been way back then. It’s so neat!

    And I’ll have to go Google what a Stoat is. I don’t think I’ve ever heard of that before. Wonder if my hubby has. OH, and that goat…it’s like The Phantom of the Opera Goat (if there as such a thing!) 🙂

  2. Chloe May 7, 2011 at 10:23 am #

    OMG!!
    Stoats are so similar to ferrets!!
    Glad you found that one and could take a picture!!

  3. Annika May 7, 2011 at 11:38 am #

    Thanks for your comment on my wedding pics! I ordered the flowers online and my mom and mom-in-law did all the bouquets!

    These are such nice photos again, I particularly like the one of the water. Amazing blue! And to see a stoat so close is cool. It’s good you’re somebody who knows all the names for the wildlife!

  4. Marie @ It's a Kind of Normal May 7, 2011 at 11:41 am #

    That sheep is so funny with his half black, half white face. He’s having a Michael Jackson moment 🙂 I love this post, and you’ve now convinced me that Aberystwyth is definitely somewhere to visit, it looks so beautiful.

  5. Mel Strange May 7, 2011 at 11:54 am #

    That stoat really was close wasn’t he! Good job catching him on camera. X

  6. Mum May 7, 2011 at 11:53 pm #

    Incredible pictures of the stoat- well impressed!

  7. Catie Eliza May 8, 2011 at 5:05 pm #

    Oh wow… I think this might be my favuorite post of all time… I loved it. amazing photos… I can’t help but imagine that stoat’s character…. He looks like a friendly and astute chap… I wish I could talk to animals. Thanks for posting. :] (haha, I blates full on stalk you now haha) xx

  8. Rachael Dabbs May 9, 2011 at 9:18 pm #

    You are amazing at catching wildlife so wonderfully! I’d love to go on a walk with you and Josh, it would be a true nature trail. I love the picture of the stoat! Well done. You amaze me!

Leave a comment